Re-alphabetizing of Julia Spicher Kasdorf’s Work

Upon helpful request by the author, Julia Spicher Kasdorf’s work in all three bibliographies has been re-alphabetized under “K” rather than “S.”

People with middle names that could be last names such as myself are always tricky for scholars when creating bibliographies, whether for a book or essay or a bibliographical project such as this website. For instance, I’ve seen myself referred to both as “Cruz” (correct) and “Shank Cruz” (incorrect–Shank, my mother’s maiden name, is my middle name–although I don’t mind it much because the important thing is that I am being cited). Different citation styles treat unhyphenated last names inconsistently, adding to the confusion. For instance, let’s take the example of Mennonite theologian Keith Graber Miller. In MLA style it is correct to cite him as “Miller,” but in Chicago Style it is correct to cite him as “Graber Miller” as though his last name were hyphenated. So it is nice that it is now often possible to simply email an author to ask how they would like to be cited.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started